Query What?


Amazon Kindle e-book reader being held by my g...
Image via Wikipedia

When I was a kid I had thought writing a book would be a simple matter of putting words on a page. Just put the book together and I knew that everything would fall in place.  I’d get recognized, my book would be published and boom, fame, glory, and another book.  And another.  And another.

Boy was I wrong!

While writing my book, Memory Lane, that belief kept me strong.  I knew that if I could get the bloody thing finished, all will be downhill from there.  That was about 3 years ago, when I typed ‘The End’.  In that time I’ve learned that not everyone is going to like the book, that the first draft is not always gold, and that the road just got steeper instead of easier.

What do I mean?  I mean getting the book published.  Now a days there are several avenues one can pursue to accomplish their goal.  Probably the easiest of it all is to self-publish.  All you have to do is get an account with Amazon, select your cover art, get an ISBN number and they will do the rest.  Of course they forget to mention that you have to do all the promotions and marketing involved.  You have to select who to send it to then just maybe it will work.  That’s the easy way and according to my proofreader “It doesn’t count”.

Of course, there is nothing wrong with self-publishing if you are able to do all that you need to do to get it recognized, promoted, and marketed.  But let’s be honest, most of us have lives where you can’t put it on hold just so you can go and try to schedule a book signing or an interview, or even pay more money to print flyers, adverts, and various other medias.  That’s just more money out of your pocket.  Most of us either don’t have the time, don’t have the knowledge, or don’t want to do it because to be perfectly honest, I’d rather write than promote.  Just not my stick you know?

So that leaves the other option.  Agent/Publisher route.  But here’s the trick, to get either one of those you have to entice them.  It’s like a seduction game, except you’re the seducee instead of the seducer.  Oh I know they tell you that you’re trying to lure them, but in reality, you’re the one being seduced by their submission guidelines, their websites (and to be perfectly honest, some if not most Agents need to hire a web designer because YIKES), and then their letters they return.  If they tell you no from the offset, off to the next person.  If they say, “Send me some more” you start to fall in love with them.  They cuddle up to you, get through all of it and decide…..not their style.  Try someone else.

At least, that is how I see it even though I’ve yet to go through the process.  Though, in thinking about it, my perception of the process is probably my biggest hurdle because to be perfectly honest, I don’t want to go through that.  I don’t have the time.  Yet, if this is my avenue of choice, I have to.  Which is why I’ve written my query letter, and I’m doing my research instead of writing the next book called the Crescent Knights, the second book to Memory Lane.  It’s frustrating, irritating, and most of all I keep asking myself, “I have to do what???”

2 thoughts on “Query What?

  1. It takes forever and it’s frustrating, but the process WILL make you a stronger writer. Take it from someone who has tried, failed, improved, failed, improved, failed, (repeat a couple dozen times), and now I’m in position where agents are continually requesting partials and fulls. Pay to play baby.

Leave a Reply

