The first one is always the hardest


Copies of The Writer's Handbook

I’m trying not to freak out.  Why?  Because I did it, I finally sent out my very first query letter to a literary agent.  Now all I can do is keep my fingers crossed and hope that the rejection slip won’t be too bad.

Well, I’ll also dream on instant success, but I’m trying to calm my twisting gut now with a dose of reality….. So far it’s not working, but hey, I have to try.  It’s officially been a full hour since I sent it so I’m going to try to only freak out for one more hour then put it aside for other things.

What is funny about this whole experience is that I’ve learned that while I’m able to write stories with very little quivering, writing a letter that is designed to capture attention and inspire an individual to write it, causes me to break out in a cold sweat.  Why?  Because writing is so personal for me.

Still, I know that if I’m ever going to get published I have to bite the bullet, suck it up, get my rear in gear….etc.

So I did it, and now I’m going to try and not chew my nails off.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “The first one is always the hardest

  1. Good luck. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t get a response this time. I had to send out 20 letters before an agent asked to see more. May have to send out many more before I find representation.

    • I hear that is the norm and I’ve tried to do as much research as I can to give me the best results. All I can do is hope, keep researching and keep plugging at it I guess. Thanks for the luck, I need it. *wink*

Leave a Reply

