The home stretch


P writing blueI talk about my writing in abstract terms on my blog.  I don’t know why I do it beyond it being a habit.  Ever since I was young I protected my writing like a wolf protecting their pups.  Jealously with teeth bared at anyone who attempts to sniff near it that I didn’t invite.  It’s a childish habit because it’s counter-intuitive.

By this I mean, my desire to be published means that I have to let people read it.  That it’s not an activity for me and those nearest and dearest to me.  So this post is my attempt to let it go.  It’s the start of a long road….

Life Without Parole is about immortals.  The question I’m answering, the what if to be precise, is as an immortal, what would happen if you were sentenced to life without parole?  I have to say that it’s probably the most original idea I’ve had.  The true ‘novel’ idea in my opinion.  But that is neither here nor there.  What is, is that it began as a short story for a contest.  I had to keep it under 3000 words….I failed at that.  I’m currently at 29,300 words approximately so it’s a cataclysmic failure.  So now I’m trying to extend it to 50,000 words because, apparently, the lowest word length for a novel is right there.

Seeing that number makes me want to slam my head to the keyboard.  You know, now that I think about it, my body apparently is obliging me with the flare ups of my migraines…gee, thanks!

But here is the real kicker to the book.  I showed it to someone whose opinion I greatly respect for a series of reasons.  One of them is because he’s a voracious reader and he knows quite a bit about what is good to read.  98% of all the books he’s suggested to me in my life has turned out to be a ‘can’t put down page turner’.  So, showing him my work and hearing him say “It was engaging” means a hell of a lot to me until he follows it up with a but

That’s what he said for Life without Parole, or LwP as I tend to call it.  I won’t get into the actual words he used or anything like that, but the gist is that it needs more polishing.  Putting together the word count and his opinion means that LwP is not finished.  Okay, so be it, I’m not surprised as I have noticed that it’s usually the 5th or 6th draft that I start getting that feeling of being in the home stretch.  It happened with Memory Lane, and it’s happening now.

Yet, and it started two nights ago, I find myself suddenly adding another element to the whole fiasco that my 10 immortals have found themselves entangled in this century.  It’s coming to light in the new version of the epilogue.  This new element has the potential of making LwP, or at the very least, the next installment for my immortals to be more trouble than they really want…or that I wanted when I first started planning LwP.  Like I’ve said, it was supposed to be a short story.

I just find it funny how what started simple has become hopelessly tangled…..

4 thoughts on “The home stretch

  1. I feel the exact same way about my own writing. I guard it like an overprotective parent, yet I know that someday I’ll want to publish it and bring it out into the big, scary world. It’s interesting… and it takes a bit of practice and polish to get to where you feel as if your writing is good enough to show others.

    • The problem I have is that while I feel like it’s at a place that I’m comfortable letting it out for others to read, when I go back I can still find things I can fix. The real trick is that once you nod in satisfaction, get the nod from those whose opinions your respect and start to being proactive in finding representation is not to touch it again except for the minor stuff (changing eye color to where it’s suppose to be, stuff like that). I’m finding that to be my newest challenge….

      Good luck on your writing!

      • Exactly – you can go on editing a book for ever ever and never be satisfied with it, unless you make yourself stop and don’t touch it again.

      • My husband helps by chasing me off the computer for awhile…fortunately he has yet to get creative about it, but he has told me frequently “Stop obsessing!”

Leave a Reply

