Never Fails


The typical, but counter productive educationa...
The typical, but counter productive educational ideal (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, sure, I’ll admit it at least once.  I’m a glutton for punishment and frustration.  I should be specific and say that I’m a glutton for self-inflicted punishment and frustration.  What do I mean?  I mean that I have this habit of starting a new story before I even finish the last one.  I always seem to convince myself that I can do it, or that it’s for a good cause or… something!  It never fails to happen.

Now, in my defense this time (emphasis on this time) is that I’m working on it with a friend.  She’s needs the therapy…actually, she needs the violence that we’re planning.  It’s been a hard year on her so far and since we’re only in April and it’s been hard, a bit of violence letting through writing should be therapeutic.  Should be at least, at the most it’s going to be damn fun.  After all, writing never fails in helping me out when I’m in a bad spot.

But here is the kicker, this isn’t my first attempt at writing with a friend.  A joint story where we both contribute and write it.  Each time before now it was an abysmal failure.  The one time it came close to succeeding was when I was 17 and that was because we lived close to each other and saw each other every day.  My other attempts have been accomplished around the world (I was in Japan and he was in the UK for example).  But, one would think I’ve learned my lesson.  That two writers, with two different writing styles, that unless one of them does a whole lot of bending or there is a mutual blending of styles that requires cooperation between both, just causes a lot of frustration.  It never fails!

I promise, if you haven’t tried, you should because you’ll see what I’m talking about.  It’s a great lesson in patience and managing frustration.  There is also another aspect, the waiting.  When you finish your scene or your aspect of development and you have to wait for the other.  One of two things happen.

1.  You nag the hell out of your companion which can be good or bad depending on the nature of your friendship.

2.  You say screw it and either continue on without them or let it drop to the wayside.

I tried a comedic piece called CREATION Inc.  We managed to get in 2 pages of development and five pages of introduction before it fell to the wayside.  I know I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again.  It never fails to happen!

So why am I trying this again?

Good question and the answer I have for you is this:  When you divide a creative person between disciplines, especially if they are an artist and a writer you tend to have them lean more toward one or the other.  I, for example, lean toward writer.  Not that I’m a horrible artist (at least not in my opinion), but to be perfectly honest I prefer the word over the image.  Just who I am and where my passion flows.  I can describe in vivid detail a person, place, or thing with words without any problems.  Ask me to draw it without my computer, pish, ain’t happening, at least not well.  My friend, and she says it herself, leans more toward the artist than the writer.  She says so herself so I’m not being unfair.  Last night I was writing and she was drawing to prove the point.

Anyway, so the last time I was 90% successful writing with another person as my wingman not only was our proximity a factor, but she’s more artist than writer as well.  So I figure, that perhaps the control freak in me has been sabotaging what has been attempted before and due to the fact that my friend is allowing me to take point works to our advantage.  Hell, who knows, maybe in a couple of months (always takes longer when two people work together) we’ll have a brand new story finished and ready for editing.

……………

My luck, I’ll have another failed attempt at cooperative writing…

3 thoughts on “Never Fails

  1. I enjoyed reading your creative writing above. It reminds me about one of my friends, who is a brilliant-classical musician. I had the opportunity to write a project proposal with her at least three times. I got lost and entangled within her imagination at the beginning of our collaboration. She has this humongous ability to get into her visionary world, but she would get lost while traversing her thoughts. As a result, I would get entangled into her mesh, and be lost together with her. Yet, with time, I learnt to keep her on track as she fictionalised projects. It is important to bring individuality to the duet project, and to smoothen the ends so that it works for both parties…

Leave a Reply

