A truism


Thermometer-lazy-2
Thermometer-lazy-2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s me, I know it is.  I tried for a while to fool myself into thinking that its a writers trait, but sometimes I can be shockingly honest with myself.  This morning was one of those moments.

Yesterday, as I’m sure it was noted by someone, I didn’t post.  In fact, aside from the morning ritual of solitaire to keep me awake until taking my daughter to school, I didn’t go near my computer except to plug-in my phone to charge it.  All I did was go through paperwork while letting the TV keep me and my son company.  I don’t normally prescribe to the electronic babysitter and typically tell the kids they get one hour a day and that’s it.  There are exceptions though and yesterday was one of them.  I told myself I was doing it until I found a piece of paperwork that was necessary for registering my son for kindergarten.  The thing is, I kept going after I found it.

You see, I’m one of those people who pushes herself until the point of exhaustion with, well, practically everything.  I just go like a locomotive until it’s out of my system.  For the last two weeks (maybe three) all I’ve focused on is LwP and basic household duties.  Pick up the trash, do the dishes, feed the family.  You know, the usual Mom stuff.  I don’t just do it with my writing either.  I also do it when I’m cleaning until I’m physically aching everywhere.

I don’t know why I do it and I can’t say I ping between the physical exhaustion to the mental exhaustion evenly, because I don’t.  There have been times when I’ll ping from writing to graphics to reading to writing to cleaning to writing to graphics… you get the idea.

The point is, when I begin realizing that once again I’m doing the pinging instead of the even distribution between tasks, it takes me awhile to pull myself back and slow down.  To take the necessary breather.  I have noticed that if I don’t consciously tell myself “Chill out, woman!  Do something else for a while.”  My subconscious does it for me.

Yesterday is the prime example of this even though a little part of me hates it (okay, a big part sometimes), slowing down is necessary.  It gives us the time we need to recharge the batteries and think clearly.  To stop getting irritated at a reality that can only be changed when our heads are screwed on straight.

Leave a Reply

