A formal introduction


I’d like to take a moment to introduce a part of my personality that sneaked out yesterday.  I call her Self.  She’s silly, a bit on the shy side with a dash of sneakiness that happens to crop up when you least expect it.  I’ve tried to stop her in the past, but really at times like this I have to ask myself, “Self, why do you do that?”

…….

Yeah, in that kind of mood and in case you’re wondering, it’s an old joke.  I don’t really have a personality split going on…at least not clinically speaking.  It’s just a way for me to step away from my usual antics and try to be a bit more on the silly side.  The joke started about 11 years ago due to my husband who brought it home from work.

Self then made a debut in a club that I was a member of (well, it’s bit more complicated than that, but for now this is good) called AJJE Games.  Self would step up to the plate to help diffuse situations or, most of the time, just to be silly.  We all have that need from time to time… right?  It’s not just me, right??

*eyes shift from side to side*

Fine, be that way, deny it for all I care.  Pbbbtttt……

ANYWAY!

Writer's Digest "Novel Writing" Edition
Writer’s Digest “Novel Writing” Edition (Photo credit: Arthaey)

Despite the nuttiness I’m portraying, I am bringing this up for an important reason.  That reason is … wait for it … that we all have to step away from our comfort zones.  Or, at least, that’s what an article in Writer’s Digest told me.  The article is called:  The Reluctant Risk-Taker’s Guide to Filling the Creative Well by Elizabeth Sims.  If you get the chance, I suggest reading this article and I say that because of one particular sentence that I’m going to quote here:

“Let’s face it: We writers tend to be rule-followers”

*Smack*  Remember that javelin from two days ago?  Found it!  What was eerie about it was that the rest of the paragraph almost described me to a T.  One or two things were not me, but that’s minor.  The point is that I read it and did a double blink and said “No sh*t!”  Fortunately the kids were asleep.  Ms. Sims then proceeded to offer 8 suggestions that can help us rule-followers find our way out of the straight and narrow into the creative.

It’s tempting to include the whole list here, but that wouldn’t be fair to Ms. Sims’ hard work in pulling this article together so instead I’ll heavily suggest that you pick up the latest edition and read it for yourself.  What I will do is list the ones that had me nodding my head the most.

1. Know thyself

As this is an aspect of my faith, I’m already in the process of doing so.  However, with that said, knowing how you do things, how you think, or why you just can’t help yourself is cool, but this article talked about knowing what you fear.  As a kid, my Dad taught me to face my fears so when I take a moment to think “What do I fear?”  The only things that pop up is cockroaches and some monster getting a hold of my kids.  If that happens, the next post will be from me in jail.  (Can you post from jail???)

5.  Learn something new

Ohhhh, yay, yay, LEARNING.  I like learning.  Learning is fun.  Learning is cool.  Learning is awesome!  Sign me up!!

… Wait, you’re not my kids… never mind. (Actually, I do like to learn new things, it’s a hobby).

7.  Eavesdrop

Yay, permission to be naughty!  Awesome!!!

Obviously there is more to the list, but again, I’m trying to whet your appetite to get you to pick up the magazine yourself.  If you’re not interested in that article, another good one in my opinion was Pulling the Rug Out by Steven James.  It’s about plot twists, and everyone knows that you can’t resist a good plot twist.

Can you?

Leave a Reply

