Five Minutes


What can you do in five minutes?  The list, especially if you’re a parent, can be quite long.  Here, let me give you the top 5 in my list of 5 minutes for my 5 year old son:

  1. Turn a frown upside down
  2. Get a snack
  3. Move from Batman to Spiderman (naturally, we’re super heroes after all)
  4. Transform Bumblebee (with instructions…you hope)
  5. Rescue Barbie from Snake Eyes (which can be a struggle when you don’t know where Barbie was stashed)

Other aspects of our life can also be done in five minutes too.  For example, dinner:

  1. Hot Dogs (less than 5 minutes)
  2. Hamburgers on a George Foreman Grill (if frozen, 6 minutes)
  3. Leftovers (popular Saturday favorite… at least for the parents)
  4. Steamed veggies (yum!)
  5. 2 cups of coffee (nectar of life)

Sometimes I find that is how I live my life, 5 minutes at a time.  I need 5 minutes to update a design, 5 minutes to take the dogs out, 5 minutes to run to the gas station, and finally, 5 minutes to say goodnight to the little ones.

When I actively think about it, I get a moment of realizing that time, being relative, works against my wants and need to write.  I get so wrapped up in being a Mom, going to work, cleaning the house, and whatever bloody emergency pops up at odd moments at a time.  I mean really, is it necessary for me to haul my forward momentum to a stop so I can pull out a bit of fluff out of the puppies mouth????

On the 13th, after a day of intense design work and then full steam ahead Mom, it was after the kids bed time when I sat at my computer with a combination of disdain and longing at the potential it possessed, trying to figure out what I wanted to do before I hauled my own exhausted butt to bed.  On a whim, I decided to try a suggestion I read in an article in the latest issue of Writer’s Digest Yearbook about a 5 minute writing exercise.  I figured, hell, the rest of my life works at 5 minute increments, why not give this a shot.

In a period of 5 minutes I went from a blank page to 200+ words and a desire to keep going.  It was amazing!  I couldn’t believe it and I just followed through.  Did it the next night and the night after that, too.  Went from 200 to 1000+.  I was like “Wooo Hooo”  Go me, I rock!  I also started a new short story which I hope I’ll finish sooner than later.  So, with this in mind, I created the top 5 writing tasks that can be completed in, you guessed it, 5 minutes!

  1. Move from funk to writing machine
  2. Start a character sketch
  3. Create a scene sketch
  4. Research a sticky point (how much can a person talk after being in a 2 month coma?)
  5. Brainstorm

Fair warning though, when you start any of these projects, while it may only take 5 minutes, don’t be surprised that when you look at the clock again, a whole hour passed.

So, question time:  What is your top 5 writing tasks that can be done in 5 minutes???  (Please, keep it to writing)

Leave a Reply

