Shifting Principles


English: Closeup of a steel ruler
English: Closeup of a steel ruler (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not the type of person who does a little bit each day.  It applies to everything in my life.  When I start cleaning, for example, it’s not uncommon to see that an hour and half passed with half my house finished.  Another hour and a half later and the rest is done.  I’ve lived my life by the ‘all or noneprinciple.

Clearly, life doesn’t always allow this type of mentality to work out.  So I’m trying to adjust, to shift to accommodate a new principle.  I think I’ll call it the ‘one inch at a time’ principle.  Here’s my thought.  If I take small steps as opposed to the large ones, the results may be harder to see, but in the long-term they will be more noticeable.

For example, let me take my writing.  Chewing out a 1,000 words or more in a few hours is no problem because I’m a fast typer.  It helps me handle the speed of my thoughts when I get in the groove.  As a result of my ‘all or none’ principle, if I couldn’t find an hour of writing time so I can turn out those 1,000 words, I didn’t bother to try.  I wanted that hour, thought of it as something I deserved and required.  Unfortunately, my difficulty with actually telling the people in my life that is not a strong suit of mine, but that’s a conversation for a later date.

In my last post I talked about picking up a book titled “Writer with a day job”.  Using the principles, techniques, and suggestions in the book I came to the realization that I could have plenty of writing time.  This week I set up about doing so.  It worked!  I managed to get my 3,000 words (my usual word count goal for when I write) this week alone with sneaking minutes when and where I could.

Color me surprised.

Because of how well it turned out, I’ll keep working on it.  I’ll take every inch, savor it, love it, own it.  It won’t be easy, shifting from one principle to the other simply because of how dramatically different they are.  I’ll try to keep posting about my success or failure with the techniques and go from there.  Cross your fingers for me, would you?

Oh!  Before I forget, I submitted an opening sentence to a writing contest on Thursday and found another contest that I’m going to submit one of my short stories to.  Here’s hoping I follow through!

Leave a Reply

