Letter to the Management


Schedules…blah!

Routine…yuck!

Do I have to?  I mean really?  I hate both, passionately.  I much rather go where the mood takes me.  If I’m in the mood to write, I write.  If I’m in the mood to clean, I clean.  You get the picture.  The reason that is the way I am is due to boredom.  I hate being bored, almost as much as I hate sticking to a schedule or a routine.

Yet…

I’m a Mother of two, a wife of one, and I work.  All three smack of both routine and schedules.  We have to leave for the bus stop at 7:25 a.m., which means I must have the kids up and moving no later than 6:45 a.m..

Dawn at Swifts Creek, Victoria, Australia
Dawn at Swifts Creek, Victoria, Australia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, another thing I hate is mornings.  I don’t know who came up with the idea of getting up early in the morning to do things, but they should be shot and quartered then scattered to the four winds.  Mornings and I have a hate relationship, the love never showed up.  Ironically, I joined the military at 18.  We didn’t get along either when it came to mornings.  Butt crack of dawn is the term I believe, and honestly, that’s where it should stay.

But anyway.

For five days a week I have to get up no later than 6:30 so I can get them up at 6:45.  At 7:40, the bus whisks them away, leaving me with 30 minutes of writing time if I can get my sleepy butt in front of the computer that is.  No later than 8:20 I am out the door so I can get to the office between 8:30 and 8:45 to make sure I’m ready to start working at 9.  Remember, I’m not a morning person.  If I don’t have any coffee by 9, I’m even more cranky than usual.  I work from 9 to 12 then take lunch.  I get home, take care of pups, sit at my computer for hopefully another 30 minutes of writing time before I go back to work again until 5 then I’m out the door, heading home to cook for the family.  I try to have dinner on the table by 6, but I”m lucky if I get it down at 6:30.

Sounds suspiciously like a schedule AND a routine…what the hell???

Who came up with this hair brain scheme?  Three of the things I hate happen every week day.  The weekends aren’t any better.

I think I need to write a letter of protest and mail it.  I’m not sure who I’d mail it to, but I’ll figure it out.  I know exactly how I’ll start it…

Dear Idiot,

How dare you pick a life that features the three things you hate the most as central to your day-to-day existence?  What?  Are you a glutton for punishment or something?

…Yes, apparently, I am.  What does this have to do with writing?  It’s simple.  Books, webpages, articles, even fellow writers are always muttering “Pick a routine, stick to it, get it done.”  Blah, blah, blah.  How nice for them, I’m glad they are able to, and sometimes I wish I was them.  In all honesty though, I’m forced to ask, what about those of us who only stick to a schedule or a routine because they have to, not because they want to?  Is there another way for us fly where the mood goes?  Or do we just suck it up and deal with it?

I wish I knew the answer, maybe one day I’ll figure it out.

My luck, I’ll find myself stuck inside another routine.  Thanks a lot!

2 thoughts on “Letter to the Management

  1. Thanks for linking to my post, yet I suspect it was an ironic slap 🙂 Routine is something I’ve fought against myself. When my babes were born I refused to be one of those moms whose kids were on a schedule, yet one developed naturally over time. Routine/Rhythm/Schedule, whatever you call it, it rules the day. Fight it? Embrace it? I do both.

    • Yeah, I do too. While I have to go to work and I have to do everything that is in the routine with school for the kids, my tasks for the day differs from one day to the next as best as I can. I need to do it for a lot of reasons.

      Thanks for taking a look at my blog.

Leave a Reply

