Lessons Learned


Brick wall
Brick wall (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m stubborn.  I know, shocker right?  I believe the term “Talking to a brick wall” describes me and my family perfectly.  Sometimes it requires a sledge-hammer to get a point across and sometimes, even that doesn’t work.  The irony is that I am open-minded.  I have friends and family from such a large variety of backgrounds, experience, and beliefs.  I try not to judge and I will listen to just about everything.  I can’t promise to like it, but I can promise to listen.

In my opinion, as a writer, this mindset is what helps me create such a large variety of characters.  Situations that my characters come in contact with are just as varied.  This variant gives me a wide range of possibilities.

Don’t get me wrong though, I still have to deal with my stubbornness.  As a result of it, when I learn my lesson, it’s usually painful and after several attempts to work around it.  The thing is, I know I’m not alone.  Not only is my family impossibly stubborn from my children to my distant relatives, but I tend to associate with equally stubborn people.  Not sure why, maybe we put off a pheromone that attracts us to each other.  Who knows.

What I do know is that while I can hope the list of lessons I’ve learned about writing will help other writers, I realize that writers are probably the most stubborn, block headed people on the planet…okay, maybe Politicians give us a run for our money, but that’s a different subject.  Even if you don’t heed my advice, fellow writers, perhaps you can find one or two that you have also learned to share it with us.  I know I’m always eager to see what others have learned.

I was going to post the list with explanations in this entry, but I got to four and found the post to be long so I’m going to break it up into a series.  Much like my Picture This series so stay tuned!  In the meantime, here is just the list, without explanation for each one, a teaser for you to look forward to.

Top 10 Lessons Learned: (not in order learned)

  1. Lie to me
  2. The First Draft Sucks
  3. Vary Viewpoints
  4. Keep Roleplaying to a Minimum
  5. Steal time from your day
  6. Inspiration is Everywhere
  7. You’re not perfect
  8. Keep Moving Forward (Thank Meet the Robinsons movie for this title)
  9. You have to have faith
  10. Follow your passion

Leave a Reply

