Lost in the hat closet


Cowboy hats for sale at Austin, Texas

Writers are multi-talented.  I think it is a prereq of our job, but it’s only found in the small print.  We have to create, we have to know how to brainstorm, be organized, edit, know and apply grammar rules, networking, socializing, marketing, and researching to list a few.  It’s enough to make our head spin, but fortunately we can skip the split pea soup and climbing on the walls…  On second thought, we do climb the walls, but that’s a different story.

Our multitude of skills can be translated into a dozen or more hats depending on the story.  The more complex the story plus the genre, the more hats writers have.  In my opinion, the only way for a writer to hold onto any semblance of sanity is to periodically switch out the hats.  Since we’re writers, I’m sure we can come up with a visual description of each one.

Lately, I’ve been stuck in the hat of editing.  Either I was editing Memory Lane or Surrender.  While doing that I was checking grammar, organizing, some creative thinking… etc.  Anyone who has gone through the hell of editing can attest to the nightmare it can present.  Unfortunately, it is a necessary evil, but sometimes it’s easy to get lost in the constant shuffling of hats.  To be honest, my closet is so unorganized that stumbling into it could be declared a hazard to life and limb.

However, now that I’m done with both I have a moment to reorganize and contemplate my next project.  The lull before the next storm and I have decided, after several glasses of wine, to go back to wearing the one hat that I always love to wear.  The one for the first draft.  That’s right, I’m going back to work on Ancient Magic.  It’s been two years since I’ve worked on it because of life in general plus working on editing and writing short stories.  The decision is a bit uplifting and encouraging.

I love to write, to create, to build and piece together the puzzle of the story in my mind.  I write it not only to get it out of my head, but also because I want to know how it ends.  I have an idea, but it’s only that, nothing firm as of yet.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still be working on sending out query letters for Memory Lane, in fact I know who the first agent will be that I send it to.  I will also keep looking for other writing contests to submit a short story or two to, but the idea of working on another of my projects that can be all-encompassing excites me.  So I’ll go into my hat closet and pull out all the hats that I need to create Ancient Magic, revisit all the notes that I have and re-read what I’ve already created so I can get back into that zone.

I’ll be organized, I’ll be empowered, and most importantly, I’ll create…

Ohhhh, I’m so excited!!!

One thought on “Lost in the hat closet

  1. I’m excited too! Love the first draft hat – mine is a bit squashed at the moment so need to dig it out and get on with my sequel! I replied to your email – hope you got it? Take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

