Moving, moving, moving


Our HouseSo… I’ve been out of circulation for the last week or so.  There’s a good reason for it!  Honest.  Ready for it???

My husband and I bought a house!!!  Yay!! *Dance up and down, do the jive (and if you know what that is, you’ve dated yourself)*

As a result, for the last two weeks we’ve been slaving away to go from old to new.  I have bruises I can’t adequately explain as to how they came to be, I have muscles that are currently yelling at me for being so cruel, and a knee that really hates my guts.  Frankly, I don’t give a damn.  (If you used Jack Nicholson’s voice in your head for that line, we’re on the same page).

There have been a few hiccups thought.  For example, when we tried to change our internet providers we learned the hard way… don’t.  It was sad, pathetic, and really disappointing, but that’s in the past now.  We have the internet back so all is well.  Once I buy a new computer chair which gave itself up to ghost in the move I’ll be perfect.  I have an office with a door that locks!  Yep, finally right?  I can’t wait to put it to use.  The only disappointment is that to refill my coffee I have to haul my happy butt downstairs but hey, it’s exercise until I can sweet talk my husband into buying a mini version of a Keurig to put it into our office.  Doubt it would happen unless I agree to a mini-fridge, but we’ll see how negotiations play out.

The best part of this is that while we have boxes here, there, and everywhere, our house doesn’t look like a disaster area!  90% of our stuff fits without us having to trip over it.  This is what happens when you upgrade by at least 500 square feet, but if you throw in the basement we are actually upgrading by 1500.  As a result, our house looks spacious, no more tripping over each other unless the dogs stop the flow of traffic for who knows why, the kids decided to walk in a zig zag, or we can’t walk straight.

Nope, we haven’t cracked the champagne, but a few beers and Smirnoff’s were during the move.  I’d like to take this time to thank all our friends who live in town who came out to help.  It was actually, gasp, fun!  Good times, good people, great house.

*Sigh*  Yep, I’m in a great place right now.  I think only one thing can make this better… getting published.

But that’s a discussion for another day 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Moving, moving, moving

  1. Hi! Lovely new house and it sounds like you are really happy – very envious of the office and the basement! Hope you’ll be really happy there and look forward to lots more writing and the eventual publication!!

Leave a Reply

