My Own Writing Retreat


Català: Imatge de la pluja d'idees

I’m off for a week!  One glorious week to do what I love.  Write!  Oh, I’m so excited, so happy.  I’ve pulled out my two projects that will get my focus.  Ancient Magic and Life Without Parole.  I’m more excited about Ancient Magic than the other one because it’s in the first draft stage.  One problem though.  I initially had planned to start with my main protagonist when I was in the brainstorming phase, but when I started finally writing it I found that I needed to start with the monsters.  Start with taking down the US Government.

Ha ha, you can’t say that every day.  Probably shouldn’t either.  If anyone from the government is reading this, I swear it’s only for the story.  Since I don’t have real monsters to play with, I can’t actually take down the government.  Not that I would, but… well, you know.  (If no one hears from me again, now you know why… :D)

Anyway, in re-reading what I’ve already written then going to my notes to figure out what happens next according to the plan I found that since I’ve made the change of where it starts, my plans are now 60% debunked.  Several of my scenes probably won’t be in the story or if they are, they are taking a different direction.  This, my friends, is one of the main reasons why I don’t put a lot of effort in planning the story arc.  It never goes the way that I plan it.  This happens because the story has a different idea and I’m a slave to the story.  Or, to be more precise, to the characters in the story.  They have their say, they want to play when they desire so I follow their advice more than I do my own.

Yes, I know it sounds nuts, leave me alone…

In thinking about how our mind works and the process involved in writing, I have found that everyone has a different approach despite what the books tells us to do.  Go to school, take a writing course, they will tell you the “right way” to plan, work, and write a story.  I keep trying to do it that way, and find that frankly, it doesn’t happen.  Just as it is happening with Ancient Magic, 60% at least ends up tucked away in notes.  My characters and settings tend to stay the same, but the interactions are what drive me forward.  Sure, I’d like this to end how I planned, but after so many stories ending dramatically differently, let’s just say that I’m now used to it.

But it brings up a valuable point (at least it does to me): what is the fine line that we should walk between the “right way” and our way.  Is the right way the best way or is it as subjective as our taste in music?  Does it matter?

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

