Early morning hours


Predawn
Predawn (Photo credit: idua_japan)

I’m starting to think that I need to plan for one day a week to go to bed really early, say 7, and wake up in the early AM to have two to three hours to do stuff on my computer.  By then I’ll be over my “I hate the computer” from sitting at one all day at work, and I have no children or husband or animals bugging me because they can’t live without me.  I mean, it feels great to be needed so much, but does it have to be all day long???

Yesterday, I fell asleep downstairs while reading around 8 o’clock though I didn’t plan it and slept for two hours.  I was awake for one hour to read and one hour to talk with the hubby, then went back to bed at around midnight.  At 3:30 the dog woke me up because she was sick.  Poor pup, but after that I knew it was a waste of time to try to go back to bed.  So instead, I worked on some web stuff then wrote up an article to get published so I can start trying to be a freelance writer.  Sometimes you just have to get up and do it.  Can’t think too much about it or hover on the feelings of anxiety.

In short, though, in 2 hours I got more writing done than I’ve had time for in the recent weeks.  Where writing an e-mail seems hard for me to do.  I blame this on several factors, one being that work is all about creative energy and I only have so much, the other is that we painted my daughter’s room this weekend so it’s a very bright and intense pink.  Yay!  Pink!  (I hate pink)  I believe she picked the color to limit how much I go into her room.

Anyway, I’m thinking that maybe this plan will help me out over all, help pull me out of my funk.  I’m not sure why I’m in a funk, but when I look at writing or designing I want to turn away and do something else.  Even coding has me growling in dissatisfaction.  I don’t know, maybe I can figure it out on one of my early morning writing times if I follow through with this plan.

Then again, maybe I won’t.  Sometimes you have to let the funk rule you before you can shake it off.

5 thoughts on “Early morning hours

  1. I like the word ‘funk’ and I can relate to the ‘funk’! With writing it is about the passion and I truly believe that you have just lost a little of that somewhere along the way with everything else that is going on. Getting up early is a good plan, although only if you can sustain it throughout the day. Don’t forget to look after yourself and don’t forget that you are an excellent author! 🙂

    • Thanks Jade! I do try to remember both factors (though taking care of myself seems to be more of a challenge than the second one). Ultimately I think it bothers me because I know that when I don’t write I get, as my daughter likes to say, “cranky crabby”. I start to get out of balance with myself internally which is a major problem so I try to work my way through it as fast as I can… if I can.

Leave a Reply

