A new direction


Welcome to a new blog – okay, old blog with a new title. A new title with a new purpose. In short – it’s sort of new.

The kids and IWhy? Well in the last set of posts I mentioned a major change in my life. A divorce. This means that I’m now a Single Mom. It’s technically not an official title, but after dancing this first set, I’m feeling like it should be.

Probably the most important lesson I’ve learned is that I can’t do it all. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried. For the first year I did try and drove myself to the brink of tears and exhaustion. I also fell into a form of isolation that has started to feel like a sucking vaccuum holding me in a pit of quick sand, or maybe that’s a tar pit. Perhaps a little of both?

So I’m going to try to reach out again, to re-establish some old connections while making some new ones. I’m not quite sure how successful I’ll be at this, but here is hoping right.

A few things to make clear before I continue:

1. I’m a writer, a fiction writer mind you, and that will always flavor all of my posts. I will, frequently I bet, go into my varied flights of fancy. I’ll utilize my usual form of visual imagery throughout. Why? Because it’s more fun that way.

2. I clearly don’t have all the answers, but I tend to think in words. Sometimes I may ask questions, sometimes I may provide my own theories, concepts. Other times I may want to complain. Being a single mom is hard work and while I don’t typically like to complain about things, I’ve learned that occasionally you have to vent. Sometimes you have to do it or you’ll go insane.

3. I thought about naming this as a divorced single mom, but honestly I chose not to because I don’t want to be defined as a divorcee. Instead if I am to be classified as anything I’d rather it be as a single mom. With that said, there is no doubt that I’ll discuss my ex-husband. I will try my very best to keep any discussions about him in relation to how it is affecting my life at the moment of the post. If I ever find myself deviating from that, I’ll attempt to put a disclaimer in case no one wants to read anything negative.

4. My kids are my life, especially now than before. As such, my posts are going to be riddled with them. Considering the title of the blog – well, you take it from there. 🙂

I think that about covers everything. If my intention becomes a reality then I’m happy to be back. Hopefully we can learn a lot together.

Feel free to comment, give me your thoughts and advice. I won’t promise to follow everything given, but I’ll respect it in the spirit that it’s applied.

Here’s to a new future!
Jess

3 thoughts on “A new direction

Leave a Reply

